‘Asian Influence’ coming up July 6, 2024 in Amsterdam at STRAAT

STRAAT present:

ASIAN INFLUENCE
Curated by Thinkspace Projects

On view July 6 through September 15, 2024 in the Netherlands

STRAAT Museum
NDSM Plein 1
1033WC Amsterdam
Netherlands

STRAAT and Thinkspace Projects are excited to present a third collaborative gallery exhibition, ‘ASIAN INFLUENCE,’ an exhibition celebrating Southeast and East Asian artists’ impact on global street art culture.

This exhibition will be on view in the STRAAT Gallery from Sunday, July 7th through Sunday, September 15th, with a special opening reception on Saturday, July 6th from 6-10pm. The exhibition is included with any regular admission ticket to STRAAT Museum.

The gallery exhibition features new work from three artists: Mark Jeffrey Santos (aka Mr. S), Ryo ‘Ryol’ Laksamana, and Alex Face.

To complement the works from these featured artists, STRAAT will also showcase a group show put together by Thinkspace Projects with new works from more than 30 contemporary Southeast and East Asian artists. Visitors should expect a mix of vibrant street art culture and contemporary art perspectives.

Opening Reception:
Saturday, July 6th from 6:00 PM – 10:00 PM

The opening reception is free to the public with RSVP to gallery@straatmuseum.com

All three of the focus artists will be in attendance.

Live Painting Events:
Indonesian artist Ryol (@ryol.id) and Filipino artist Mr. S (@mister_sasquatch) will be live-painting new mural-scale creations for STRAAT’s permanent main hall collection during museum hours in the week leading up to the exhibition opening.

Alex Face (@alexfacebkk) from Thailand, who already has a giant canvas at STRAAT, will be creating a new public mural on the large exit doors of the museum. Keep an eye out!

Mr. S (1990, Philippines) @mister_sasquatch

Mark Jeffrey Santos transports viewers to a fantasy realm through his engaging works. His pieces frequently depict characters embarking on adventures with colossal creatures, showcasing his world-building and character design prowess. A fixture in art exhibitions since 2015, Santos has gained an online and offline following, earning the moniker “Mister S” or “Mister Sasquatch” within street art circles. His work has graced exhibitions globally, from Taiwan to the UK, highlighting his expanding international presence.

Ryo Laksamana (1993, Indonesia) @ryol.id 

Hailing from Banyuwangi in East Java, Laksamana Ryo aka RYOL is an artist whose journey began during his academic years at the Seni Indonesia Institute in Yogyakarta. RYOL’s paintings exude a vibrant and captivating quality, infused with pop culture influences and a style that evokes the charm of the cartoon universe. Yet, beneath this playful exterior lies a depth of subject matter. Ryo deftly navigates themes like social criticism, human behavior, and intricate relationships.

Alex Face (1981, Thailand) @alexfacebkk

Patcharapon Tangruen, aka Alex Face, is a celebrated graffiti artist from Thailand who originally studied fine arts at Bangkok’s King Mongkut Institute of Technology. Intrigued by abandoned structures, he turned streets and alleys into his canvas. Operating under the name Alex Face, he aims to engage urban communities, especially in underprivileged areas. His iconic character, a disillusioned child in a rabbit costume, juxtaposes cuteness with a wise, concerned demeanor about the world’s future.

Alongside the main 3-person show, we have also curated a group show of smaller works from a cast of emerging artists from across Asia, including works from:
Abenk Alter | @abenkalter Indonesia
Riki Antoni | @rikiantoni77 Indonesian
Blic | @blicpinas Phillipines
Bluepalete | @bluepalete Thailand
Kim Borja | @art.kimborja Phillipines
Cham Cristobal | @chamemoii Phillipines
Darbotz | @darbotz Indonesia
Addy Debil | @addydebil Indonesia
Kratai Dudu | @kratai_dudu Thailand
Decki Leos Firmansah | @decki_leos_firmansah Indonesia
Shinnosuke Hariya | @shinnosuke_hariya Japan
Humbly | @humbly.ph Phillipines
Krachok | @kra_chok Thailand
Hanna Lee Joshi | @hannaleejoshi South Korea
Don Bosco Laskar | @donboscolaskar Indonesia
Huntz Liu | @huntzhuntz Taiwan
Pony Ma | @ponyhorsema Taiwan
Valdo Manullang | @nimrod_studio Indonesia
Mr. Kreme | @mrkreme Thailand
Manow Nowhere | @manow_nowhere Thailand
Buakow Phasom | @buakow_phasom Thailand
Heru Priyono | @heru_priyono_art Indonesia
Lee Salvador | @lee.salvador Phillipines
Fandi Angga Saputra | @fandianggasaputra Indonesia
Guy Satayuu | @guy_satayuu Thailand
Marilou Solano | @mayuenaise Thailand
Cy Wang | @cy_wang_art Taiwan
Liffi Wongso | @liffi_wongso Indonesia
Cheong Yoon | @cheong_yoon South Korea

On view July 7 – September 15, 2024

STRAAT
NDSM Plein 1
1033 WC Amsterdam
Netherlands